ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

IE broken after migration

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
sapsa View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 May 2014
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote sapsa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: IE broken after migration
    Posted: 09 May 2014 at 3:07am
Hello,

We are migrating alot of machines. Alot of them with success. Sadly some of them are getting broken Internet Explorer (no matter which version).

Symptoms are:
- not able to install ActiveX plugins
- not able to download any file - save popup and you cant click 'download/save as'
- some java buttons that should popup file to download are not working (no popup)

This is related only with migrated profile, because old profile/newly created are working ok.
All availble fixs for IE like reseting settings are not helping. If I recall correct affected computer have win 7.

Is there a fix of some kind? mayby wrong ACL on files?
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1296
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2014 at 4:19am
We are not aware of any problems with Internet Explorer. What version of User Profile Wizard are you using?
Back to Top
sapsa View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 May 2014
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote sapsa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2014 at 7:02am
ProfWiz 3.7
Back to Top
shasta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2014
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote shasta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2014 at 9:49pm
I had the same issue, Windows 7 machine, Internet Explorer and anything to do with Java was corrupted.
Back to Top
Max K View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote Max K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2014 at 1:30pm
Same issue here. Two different machines on Windows 7 so far. Both unable to download anything in IE 11 after migration.

Tried to reset IE, uninstall/reinstall, clear Cache, etc - nothing worked.
Finally re-created the user profile from scratch and only then was I able to download. Kind of defeats the purpose of using the tool, however. Hoping for a solution going forward ...
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1296
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2014 at 5:39am
We are always very keen to fix any issues that arise. However, it is almost impossible for us to resolve problems that we cannot reproduce. It is worth noting too that no one who has purchased maintenance support has ever raised these issues.

If anyone is willing to spend some time and effort to help us investigate these issues please email support@ForensiT.com. You must of course be able to consistently reproduce the problem. (If you can do this on a virtual machine that would be even more useful because you can revert to a snapshot before the migration.)

Back to Top
Katarn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Apr 2015
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote Katarn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2015 at 8:02am
Greetings, sorry for bringing up old topic, but this might help nail exact problem.

What stops working:
-saving files via IE (and only IE)
-Help aka F1 stops working (Either doesn't load pictures and right font or, in case of MS office, cease to start 'Help' with error)

I've migrated user account back to been local account via Profwiz3 and everything returned to normal.
It seems some links doesn't migrate. Can't nail it closer. I can't reproduce problem, since it seems, sort of, random. But out of ~20 computers I've migrated, at very least 3 had this issue. Nothing special about either computers or software. Computers are all the same.

Also this problem doesn't rise on SAME PC but with DIFFERENT user account, even migrated from local to domain one. Users, who had this problem had different permissions both on local computer and in domain.

Back to Top
Lucko View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Aug 2015
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote Lucko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Aug 2015 at 3:32am
Same issue. Download stop working for migrated user. But I can't find a way to reproduce an issue. It just happens or not. Can't find a reason why... But out of 9 computer 3 have this problem.

Anyway anybody found a solution to fix IE?
Back to Top
BachelerTech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Aug 2015
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote BachelerTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2015 at 1:27pm
We were able to resolve this issue yesterday.

We migrated 50+ machines over last weekend to a domain environment and there were 3 that had this issue. Images were not loading properly on random sites and we were unable to download anything.

The issue is caused by the internet explorer temporary internet files folder being corrupted during the prowiz migration process. We were able to create a new folder in the root of c and under internet options change the location of the temporary internet files folder location. Once this change was made, we reloaded the browser and the problem was resolved.

Steps to fix are below:

1. Create a new folder at a location of your choice.
2. Open IE, choose Tools, Internet Options.
3. In the Browsing History section under the General Tab, choose Settings.
4. Choose Move Folder and point to the folder created in step 1.

Hope this helps someone resolve their issue.


Edited by BachelerTech - 05 Aug 2015 at 1:28pm
Back to Top
Sagouain. View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote Sagouain. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2016 at 6:59am
Had the same exact issue, java applets who were supposed to load pdf file weren't functioning.

Thank you BachelerTech for your solution!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.