ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Move Computer
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Windows 10 Issues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Yepess View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jun 2020
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote Yepess Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Windows 10 Issues
    Posted: 04 Jun 2020 at 12:30pm
Well, I have problems with the Windows 10 start menu with the latest Version 2004, which have recently been released.

It turns out that the menu looks good, but it does not reflect any changes from what I do, if I delete something from the store that was already installed or any program that its shortcut appears there, in the menu it continues to appear, it is not removed. It is as if frozen.
Only what is anchored works fine to the start menu.

I know that the thread is 5 years old, but it is not closed either and right now I see this problem. When moving the profile, everything is transferred well, except for the start menu that is frozen as everything that has been transferred in it. Except what is anchored that works well.

I hope I have explained myself.
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1377
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2020 at 8:32am
This thread dates from five years ago. Transwiz has been updated multiple times since then. If you are using the latest version of Transwiz and an up to date build of Windows 10, we are not aware of any Start menu issues whatsoever.

In the real world there will always be issues with individual migrations. However, we are confident that in general there are no problems with the Start Menu after transferring a profile to Windows 10 with Transwiz.
Back to Top
Yepess View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jun 2020
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote Yepess Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2020 at 3:31am
Some way there has to be so that it doesn't break the start menu without having to use any additional programs or having to reinstall Windows.

Let them look at it if they find a solution and update the program without this failure, since it is annoying. Because I could not get it to work with the program you say "'Tweaking.com - Windows Repair Free".
Back to Top
mcbsys View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
  Quote mcbsys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2020 at 11:14am
I haven't used TransWiz for some time but I have had the Windows 10 Start menu freeze (fail to open at all) for other, unknown reasons. The only thing that seems to fix it reliably is to do an in-place Windows 10 upgrade, that is, download the Windows 10 ISO for your current version of Windows, run setup, choose to keep personal files:

https://www.wintips.org/repair-windows-10-with-in-place-upgrade/
Back to Top
Yepess View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jun 2020
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote Yepess Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2020 at 7:07am
I would like to know if there is any solution for this, since I manage to transfer the profile to another computer correctly, but the Windows 10 start menu, version 2004, does not work, it is as if it was blocked, it does not matter if I remove an application from the store or install it, this menu is not modified, except for what it has recently added. The truth that everything that is anchored to the start menu, looks good and that can be touched, it is not blocked. The rest of the menu yes.
For everything else in the profile no problem.

I tried the program they mentioned, but without results.

Edited by Yepess - 03 Jun 2020 at 7:09am
Back to Top
Noidenous View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 2019
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote Noidenous Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 2019 at 8:07am
Originally posted by jeremyhx



From my past Windows 10 travels I had used 'Tweaking.com - Windows Repair Free'. I happily can report that the tool was able to fix the correct permissions so that the start menu, etc. all started working (almost immediately, no reboot needed).

Unfortunately I do not know exactly which options were responsible for actually solving the problem - I simply left all the default repair options selected. My guess is that it was '01 - Reset Registry Permissions', '02 - Reset File Permissions' and '28.01 - Repair Windows 8 / 10 App Store' that fixed it.


I tried this tool and it wouldn't run from within the broken profile, even with admin rights.

Does this method work from the local/domain admin account itself?
Back to Top
jsaling View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Aug 2019
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote jsaling Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 2019 at 2:13pm
I use this when going from Windows 7 to Windows 10.
A while back, an older version of transwiz would break the start menu.

Once an update was released, it started working just fine after restoring user data,
However, it appears to be back on newer building of Windows 10 (still going from 7 to 10).

Now I have checked, and I'm using the now current version, and it also breaks the start menu with Windows 10 v1809.
Back to Top
grahamperrin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2019
Location: Brighton, UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote grahamperrin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 8:01am
Originally posted by wampastompa

… to Windows 10, it breaks the start menu.



If I transfer FROM windows 10 to windows 10 it breaks the start menu completely. It can't be opened by clicking on it or pressing the windows key. …


I have those symptoms for a profile that was migrated:
  • from Windows 7
  • to build 1803 of Windows 10.
It seemed that the task bar was generally non-functional. I might not have tried everything across the bar, left to right, but nothing that I clicked was responsive; and the Windows key had no effect.

Two errors in the ForensiT AppX Management Service log, might either of these be a direct or indirect cause of the breakage?

Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Users\nsp13\Appdata\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\vedatamodel.edb'.

Tile backup failed for C:\Users\nsp13

Back to Top
AOHiTechnique View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote AOHiTechnique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 2:07pm
Hmmmm. That's a good thought. I'm pretty much always logged on as a domain admin, but I'm pretty sure it's worked when I've been logged on as a local admin too. Can't say for sure. Good luck!

Andy
Back to Top
mcbsys View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
  Quote mcbsys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 12:29pm
@AOHiTechnique, thanks for the update. Hard to figure how ctfmon.exe would fix the Start menu but I'll keep that in mind. As for TransWiz, my current thinking is that you need to be logged on as a domain admin for the tool to properly import domain accounts. A bit of a challenge if you want to migrate the profile of the domain admin...maybe then use the workaround of having the user log in before running the TransWiz import.

I also appreciate TransWiz but this was so thoroughly messed up that I'm now nervous about whether I can rely on it.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.