ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Move Computer
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Windows 10 Issues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
mcbsys View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
  Quote mcbsys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2018 at 3:10pm
I had started a new thread but was directed here. Moving my post to this thread...
------------------------------------

Hi,

I've used and appreciated TransWiz Personal through several migrations in small businesses, usually 2-4 computers.

This week I'm moving one computer from Win7 Enterprise x64 to Win10 Enterprise 1803 x64 . (Non-profit gets "Enterprise" edition donated.) The computer is domain-joined with about five profiles.

I captured the profiles from Win7 with TransWiz.

Then I put in a blank hard drive, installed Win10 from scratch, and joined the domain. I used a PowerShell script to uninstall and disable many Windows 10 Store apps (Candy Crush etc.).

While logged in as a local, non-domain admin, I used TransWiz 1.11 to import my domain user profile. It went through about 70 app updates. Upon logging as as the domain user, I was unable to open the Start Menu. I believe it was SearchUI.exe that was crashing.

Did the same thing with another domain user's profile. ShellExperienceHost.exe and SearchUI.exe crashed.

There are many other errors in the event log: DCOM 10010, AppModel Runtime 69, Kernel-General 5 re. registry hive corruption, etc.

I used the same approach a few months ago with Win10 Pro 1709 and did not have this problem. Maybe it's new with 1803?

As a workaround, I found that this works:

1. From This PC > Properties > Advanced, delete the profile.
2. Get the user to log in to Windows 10. Let it finish "Getting things ready."
3. Have the user log off.
4. Log on as an admin user and import the profile using TransWiz. Choose Merge and do NOT overwrite.
5. Have the user log in again. No more stepping through 70+ apps. Icons, photos, etc. should be there. Desktop will be wrong because Win10 created a destkop in step 2 that was not overwritten.

Unfortunately, this means that I have to be there when each user logs on. Also, one time, I didn't have Merge as an option; it just created a second profile with the domain name as the suffix.

Well that's a long post. Is there an easy fix for migrating users onto 1803 after customizing Store apps?
Back to Top
mcbsys View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
  Quote mcbsys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2018 at 3:16pm
So, now that I've read through this thread, the only solution I'm seeing (other than the possible workaround I posted) is to use the third-party Tweaking.com tool to fix what TransWiz breaks?

Would love to hear ForensiT chime in here:

"This happens when..."

"You can avoid it by..."

"We're releasing a fix on..."
Back to Top
mcbsys View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
  Quote mcbsys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2018 at 4:19pm
Hmm...just did another profile on the same machine, migrated directly (before user logon) and it seems fine. Maybe part of the issue/solution is that you have to be logged on as a domain admin when importing profiles for domain users?
Back to Top
AOHiTechnique View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote AOHiTechnique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 10:20am
I haven't had to use tweaking.com for a while. Every migration I've done in the last several months hasn't had an issue. Maybe make sure you have the latest download? Honestly, I'm thankful for there to be a free tool for me to use for this, especially when it works so well most of the time. Hopefully it is actually fixed permanently.

I have noticed on multiple computers with Windows Server 2016 or Windows 10, that there have been some issues with the start menu even on computers that I didn't use transwiz. On those ones, I ran C:\Windows\system32\ctfmon.exe and that fixed it at least until reboot. Then you can set that as a startup batch script. Again, it's a workaround, and not transwiz related, and maybe this wouldn't work with the transwiz problem, but I haven't had transwiz fail in a long time to test this theory.
Back to Top
mcbsys View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
  Quote mcbsys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 12:29pm
@AOHiTechnique, thanks for the update. Hard to figure how ctfmon.exe would fix the Start menu but I'll keep that in mind. As for TransWiz, my current thinking is that you need to be logged on as a domain admin for the tool to properly import domain accounts. A bit of a challenge if you want to migrate the profile of the domain admin...maybe then use the workaround of having the user log in before running the TransWiz import.

I also appreciate TransWiz but this was so thoroughly messed up that I'm now nervous about whether I can rely on it.
Back to Top
AOHiTechnique View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote AOHiTechnique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2018 at 2:07pm
Hmmmm. That's a good thought. I'm pretty much always logged on as a domain admin, but I'm pretty sure it's worked when I've been logged on as a local admin too. Can't say for sure. Good luck!

Andy
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.015 seconds.