ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

UPW pointing my profile to another user's profile

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
TheKoolestIP View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Oct 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote TheKoolestIP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: UPW pointing my profile to another user's profile
    Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 2:53pm
I'm evaluating User Profile Wizard personal edition. On my computer I started the User Profile Wizard GUI and selected my profile. I clicked Next and chose my domain and typed in my username. Then it said it was changing my profile to another user's profile and automatically restarted my computer! Now I can't login to my profile and when I do the start menu doesn't work and none of my settings are available.

Just to make things clearer my profile is domain\jim. When I ran User Profile Wizard it said it changed it to domain\sally. Now when I run User Profile Wizard it says user domain\jim is mapped to profile domain\sally. How do I make it so user domain\jim is mapped back to profile domain\jim?

Edit: my computer is running Windows 10

Edited by TheKoolestIP - 04 Oct 2016 at 2:55pm
Back to Top
vachalet View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote vachalet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jan 2017 at 4:09am
I have the same problem.
My domain profile (toto.tata) point to my old profile (a local one toto)
Do we have now to move/copy the profile to the new created one ?
Local\toto to Domain\toto.tata

in that case it isn't really interesting
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Online
Posts: 1207
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 5:46am
User Profile Wizard does not move, copy or delete any data. Instead it configures the existing profile “in place” so that it can be used by the user’s new account.

You should migrate the profile before signing in with the new domain account.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.