ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

cannot get SID during migration

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
slaskaridis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote slaskaridis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: cannot get SID during migration
    Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 7:48am
Dear sir/madame
 
I want to migrate a pc from an old domain to a new domain.
i run the profwiz.exe locally on this pc.
i type the new domain name, tick join to domain.
on account name i type the logon username of the user (which is simply "socrates" and will remain "socrates" on new domain)
i click next and select the olddomain\socrates profile.
i click next and it asks credentials for new domain
i type the administrator and  it says that migration complete
 
 
but when it reboots, the new username is not created in the new domain
and i cannot login in the pc
 
Back to Top
slaskaridis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote slaskaridis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 8:01am

Finding Domain Controller for domain domain.local... Done.
Using Domain Controller: \\citrix.domain.local.
Binding to Active Directory... Done.
Getting Domain SID for user "socrates@domain.local"...  Fails.
User account not found in domain.
Joining to domain "domain.local" ... Done.
Migration Complete!
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1282
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 8:01am
Hi,
 
User Profile Wizard does not create the user account for you. The user account must already exist in the new domain.
Back to Top
slaskaridis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote slaskaridis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 8:03am
then, if i create manually the user, it logon with a new profile.
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1282
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 8:16am

If a new profile is being created it is not because you have created the user account manually. The user account must be created in the new domain first.

Create the account, then run User Profile Wizard to migrate the existing profile to the new domain account and join the machine to the domain -do not share the profile. Reboot the machine before logging in with the new account.
 
 
Back to Top
slaskaridis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote slaskaridis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 8:33am

Finding Domain Controller for domain domain... Done.
Using Domain Controller: \\citrix.domain.local.
Binding to Active Directory... Done.
Getting Domain SID for user "socrates"... Done.
SID is S-1-5-21-2061070574-1170298713-3609057357-1139
Checking for roaming profile...Done.
No roaming profile path set.
Setting Registry ACLs... Done.
Set Registry ACLs in 0.154 seconds.
Setting Profile ACL... Done.
Set Profile ACL in 0.139 seconds.
Updating restore points... Done.
Creating Profile registry keys... Done.
Joining to domain "domain" ... Fails.
Error 1355. The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted.
Migration Fails.
Back to Top
slaskaridis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote slaskaridis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 8:45am
ok i created the user and now:
 
Finding Domain Controller for domain domain.local... Done.
Using Domain Controller: \\citrix.domain.local.
Binding to Active Directory... Done.
Getting Domain SID for user "socrates"... Fails.
Joining to domain "domain.local" ... Done.
Migration Complete!
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1282
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 8:47am
This is most likely a DNS error. You must make sure that there is a "Forwarders" entry to the new domain on your existing DNS server. (Just being able to ping the domain is not enough.) See the "Troubleshooting" section of the User Guide.
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1282
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2008 at 9:23am
As a troubleshooting measure, you could specify the username in UPN format: user@domain.local. However, this again looks like a name resolution problem. You should resolve the network issues first.
Back to Top
slaskaridis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote slaskaridis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Dec 2008 at 1:54am
Finding Domain Controller for domain DOMAIN... Done.
Using Domain Controller: \\citrix.domain.local.
Binding to Active Directory... Done.
Getting Domain SID for user "socrates"... Done.
SID is S-1-5-21-2061070574-1170298713-3609057357-1139
Checking for roaming profile...Done.
No roaming profile path set.
Setting Registry ACLs... Done.
Set Registry ACLs in 0.141 seconds.
Setting Profile ACL... Done.
Set Profile ACL in 0.125 seconds.
Updating restore points... Done.
Creating Profile registry keys... Done.
Joining to domain "DOMAIN" ... Done.
Setting socrates as default logon... Done.
Adding domain account to local groups... Done.
Migration Complete!
thank you very much..
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.