ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Move Computer
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

TransWiz Win XP SP3 to Win10 r1703 Failure

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
rmetzger View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Jul 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote rmetzger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: TransWiz Win XP SP3 to Win10 r1703 Failure
    Posted: 16 Jul 2017 at 2:47pm
I am attempting to transfer a profile from Windows XP Pro SP3 (Lap-SBM-1) to Windows 10 x64 r1703 Home Premium (Lap-SBM-2).

I am using a TransWiz.exe Pro (Licenced) v1.10.1075.0.

Profile copied to \\Lap-SBM-2\C:
 Directory of C:\Backup\Lap-SBM-1

07/16/2017  12:31 PM    <DIR>          .
07/16/2017  12:31 PM    <DIR>          ..
07/15/2017  11:23 PM    62,872,974,226 SBM.trans.zip

User Name on both laptops: SBM
Password on both laptops: identical

These laptops are not connected to a server / domain.

Each is a member of Workgroup.
I can browse from Win10 to XP system and map a network drive
Z: \\Lap-SBM-1\C$ successfully.

User SBM is a member of Administrators.

Made a user Admin on Destination (Lap-SBM-2), restarted, logged into Admin (with Administrative privileges).

Started a console, cmd.exe (elevated, Ctrl-Shift-Enter and answering Yes).

Ran TransWiz.exe from the elevated console.


This is the error/screen:

Copyright (c) 2006-2016 ForensiT Ltd
www.ForensiT.com

Unpacking transfer file... Done.
Processing file list... Done.
Setting Registry ACLs... Fails.
Unable to load Profile. Error 2.
The system cannot find the file specified.


No profile errors are listed in the Event Logs, in Applications, Security, and System.

How do I overcome the Registry ACLs failure and Error 2.

Thanks,
Ron Metzger
Back to Top
rmetzger View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Jul 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote rmetzger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2017 at 10:38pm
Follow up:

Originally, I was trying to Merge profiles, overwriting in the process. This appears to be the issue with the error listed above.

Through the Command Line interface, merge does not seem to exist.

So, I tried:
TransWiz /RESTORE /TRANSFERFILE C:\Backup\Lap-SBM-1\SBM.trans.zip /SOURCEACCOUNT Lap-SBM-1\SBM /TARGETACCOUNT Lap-SBM-2\SBM /LOG /NORENAME /NOREBOOT

This worked, however created a completely new profile: \Users\SBM.LAP-SBM-2

However, upon the first reboot, a kernel panic occurred.

Ran "Tweaking.com - Windows Repair" and found that the Reparse Points were all wrong - Let Windows Repair correct the Reparse Points issues, successfully.

Rebooted and repeated the repairs, finding no other issues.

Rebooted using SBM id. Seems to be working.

Most everything is working except:

Before running TransWiz, both Admin and SBM had the settings options:
PC Settings -> Devices -> Touchpad.
Under Touchpad, I could disable the touchpad when a USB mouse is also connected.

Now, Admin has the Touchpad option, but SBM does not.

Anyone know how to correct / re-introduce the Touchpad section under SBM profile?

Thanks,
Ron Metzger
Back to Top
rmetzger View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Jul 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote rmetzger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2017 at 9:45pm
Second Follow up:

The new laptop has a 'Precision Touchpad' which is supported by Win10 natively.

During the construction of the new Profile, the old laptop's Touchpad (Synaptics) settings are copied over to the new profile, which override the 'Precision Touchpad' settings.

Thus,
PC Settings > Devices > Touchpad doesn't exist.

To correct this, I compared the working profile (with Touchpad tab) against the new SBM profile, registry settings, looking for Synaptics or Touchpad.

In the non-working profile, I deleted:
[HKCU\Software\Synaptics]

I then exported from the working profile:
[HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad]
[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad]

Then imported these into the non-working profile.

Rebooted and logged into SBM profile.

'PC Settings > Devices > Touchpad' now exists and I can now change settings as before the profile was copied in by TransWiz.

Details:
[HKCU~Software~Microsoft~Windows~CurrentVersion~PrecisionTouchPad].reg
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad]
"AAPThreshold"=dword:00000002
"CursorSpeed"=dword:0000000a
"EnableEdgy"=dword:ffffffff
"LeaveOnWithMouse"=dword:00000000
"PanEnabled"=dword:ffffffff
"RightClickZoneEnabled"=dword:ffffffff
"ScrollDirection"=dword:00000000
"TapAndDrag"=dword:ffffffff
"TapsEnabled"=dword:ffffffff
"TwoFingerTapEnabled"=dword:ffffffff
"ZoomEnabled"=dword:ffffffff
"UsePhysicalMonitorDpi"=dword:ffffffff
"HonorMouseAccelSetting"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad\Status]
"Enabled"=dword:00000001


[HKLM~SOFTWARE~Microsoft~Windows~CurrentVersion~PrecisionTouchPad].reg
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad]
"AAPDisabled"=dword:00000000
"CurtainDismissDistance"=dword:0000000a
"CurtainDismissTime"=dword:000000fa
"GestureScrollMaxDistance"=dword:00000021
"HorizontalOffset"=dword:00000000
"RightClickZoneHeight"=dword:00000000
"RightClickZoneWidth"=dword:00000000
"SpaceBarOffset"=dword:000003e8

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad\IgnoredExternalMice]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad\LegacyControlled]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchPad\LegacyDevices]


Seems to be working as expected.

Hope this helps.
Ron Metzger


Edited by rmetzger - 23 Jul 2017 at 10:09pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.015 seconds.