ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Accidental Deletion of Profile

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
nklein View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote nklein Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Accidental Deletion of Profile
    Posted: 02 Jan 2009 at 3:19pm
Hi,

I goofed. I used the wrong profile wizard to transfer profiles. I had intented to transfer a user's settings from one PC to another, using the Profile Transfer Wizard RC1(or RC2). The user would be logging on to a new computer with the same (domain) login information.

When following the promts, it said what profile do you want to copy to, and I chose the profile that I was logged into. Results: It overwrote the profile.
I should have used the Transfer Wizard.

I was able to copy over Desktop,MyDocuments, Application Data before running the wizard.

It seems that it created a file (in Documents and Settings) who's profile no longer works. When I login to the profile, it just goes back to the CTRL-Alt-Del screen to login again.

I thought I was ok, since I copied many of the files first.
But now the user says they are missing their Outlook PST folders, which they had in addition to the Exchange mailbox.

Any idea how I can either revert or recover those files?

Thanks.


Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1277
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2009 at 8:18am

Hi,

It sounds like you needed to use the Transfer Wizard to move the profile to another machine and used User Profile Wizard instead. If this is the case, then the good news is that the profile will not have been deleted; User Profile Wizard does not delete, move or copy any profile data.

To assign the profile back to the user account run User Profile Wizard again. On the "Select a User Profile" page, click "Show Unassigned Profiles". You should now see the path to the "orphaned" profile. Select the profile and click next. When the migration is complete, reboot the machine. When you logon with the user account, you should see the original desktop, etc.


Edited by Support - 03 Jan 2009 at 8:20am
Back to Top
mutu26 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Sep 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote mutu26 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2011 at 9:42am
For this condition one of the best ways is a special tool such as .pst file viewer. It can work with invalid pst files bigger than 2 gb, has clear and intuitive interface for any experienced users. Starts under low system requirements.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.016 seconds.