ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics RSS Feed: Move users to new AD keepin local profile
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Move users to new AD keepin local profile

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Quiltface View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2018
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote Quiltface Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Move users to new AD keepin local profile
    Posted: 07 Dec 2018 at 5:43pm
Is there any update on this, this issue is driving me nuts.
I have yet to try the O365C1.exe tool, I am not sure what exactly it does... does anyone know? Naturally I am hesitant to run random executables on my machines.

I have 2 machines having the issue, I would rather "fix" it than rebuild another profile I fear other issues doing that.
Back to Top
synergi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Nov 2018
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote synergi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 4:39pm
Did any one come up with a fix> - tried the supplied utility - no luck?
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1296
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2018 at 6:01am
As we say in the User Guide (What isn’t migrated?): "User Profile Wizard cannot migrate encrypted data. This includes encrypted files, but also Internet and Outlook passwords which will need to be re-entered after the migration."
Back to Top
arkatis87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2018
Location: Nicosia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote arkatis87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2018 at 1:47am
Originally posted by jellybelly

Hi Pimpfish,
I found a way to make this work. Here is my situation and the steps we take for a successful migration... We were 'cloud first' using AzureAD and are now standing up an on-premise AD server so that we can use GPOs. All of our users have been connected to O365 with their work account for some time but their workstations are all in WORKGROUP.

The key to success is rebooting the user's workstation to get a 'fresh' session. Then navigate to Windows Settings > Account > Access work or school. Select account and disconnect.

Now migrate the user - I am using migrate.exe generated from forensit tool rather than the gui. If you do it this way, you must run as Administrator.

Let me know if you want more detail. I have documented all the steps... I never found a way to fix the workstation login loop. The utility supplied by Forensit was hit-or-miss. I wound up rebuilding the user's profile manually.

We have successfully migrated about 40 users so far.



Hey jellybelly,

We are trying to migrate local profiles to Azure AD and i need some help.
I can migrate both profiles successfully but all passwords etc are not migrating the new one.

Can you please let me know of your documentation steps you took so i can find a different approach to our journey?

Thank you.
Back to Top
jellybelly View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2018
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote jellybelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2018 at 7:09am
Hi Pimpfish,
I found a way to make this work. Here is my situation and the steps we take for a successful migration... We were 'cloud first' using AzureAD and are now standing up an on-premise AD server so that we can use GPOs. All of our users have been connected to O365 with their work account for some time but their workstations are all in WORKGROUP.

The key to success is rebooting the user's workstation to get a 'fresh' session. Then navigate to Windows Settings > Account > Access work or school. Select account and disconnect.

Now migrate the user - I am using migrate.exe generated from forensit tool rather than the gui. If you do it this way, you must run as Administrator.

Let me know if you want more detail. I have documented all the steps... I never found a way to fix the workstation login loop. The utility supplied by Forensit was hit-or-miss. I wound up rebuilding the user's profile manually.

We have successfully migrated about 40 users so far.
Back to Top
pimpfish View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Oct 2018
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote pimpfish Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2018 at 3:31pm
I'm bumping this post as I am having the same issue as Jellybelly.  I had a domain account and a local profile using O365 and the account was added as a "work school" account under the local profile.  Windows 10 obviously. 

I migrated the profile to the domain account, and got the hang that others have described at the first reboot (Preparing to set up apps).  I killed that, and rebooted again.  The login under the domain account showed the profile as normal.  I then experienced the annoying Outlook login loops.  I did both the suggested fixes here (running the file provided by Forensit and making the registry change proposed by another user).  That seems to have resolved.  However, I am completely unable to add or store the credentials for the O365 account.  I cannot "connect as work or school account" and get the "Something went wrong" error.

I've forced all logouts from the O365 side, and tried adding the account when and when not connected to my work/domain VPN.  Only think I haven't done is removed the machine from AD (we're using ADSync with a hosted domain server), as other posters said that didn't work.  The issue seems to be buried in the profile and something needs to be nuked to be able to reconnect to "work school". 
Back to Top
jellybelly View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2018
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote jellybelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2018 at 2:51pm
Well, unfortunately, I tried the fix with the very next user that was having the same exact problem and the problem persists. Is there anything else we can try so that the user is not prompted to login twice and then get the "Something went wrong..." error message? I have uninstalled/reinstalled Office, removed all office credentials from Credential Manager, removed the user's device from Azure with no luck in solving.

thanks

Edited by jellybelly - 26 Sep 2018 at 2:54pm
Back to Top
jellybelly View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2018
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote jellybelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2018 at 1:14pm
Windows 10 Pro version 1803, build 17134.286.
The machine was NOT joined to Azure AD. It was in WORKGROUP prior to migration to our on-premise AD server. Thanks.
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1296
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2018 at 12:58pm
Please keep in mind that this test utility fixes the majority of problems - but not all.

We still need more information, please tell us what build of Windows 10 you are using, and whether the machine is joined to Azure AD, etc.
Back to Top
jellybelly View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2018
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
  Quote jellybelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2018 at 7:17am
Any chance you can share what this executable does to fix the issue? If it makes a change in the Registry, I really need to know what that change was.
Thank you very much as it seems to fix the problem.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.016 seconds.