ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics RSS Feed: Binding to Active Directory...Fails.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Binding to Active Directory...Fails.

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
RonnieE View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote RonnieE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Binding to Active Directory...Fails.
    Posted: 20 Mar 2009 at 4:57am
We have problem to bind to Active Direcory. Any ideas?
 
 
From the logfile:
//
Starting migration service... Done.
Finding Domain Controller for domain xx.net... Done.
Using Domain Controller: \\yy.xx.net.
Binding to Active Directory...Fails.
Migration Fails.
Access Denied.
 
/Ronnie
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1203
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2009 at 5:25am
If you are sure that the account you are using does have permissions to access AD, the problem could be down to name resolution. Try specifying the name in a different format: if you are using a "flat" NetBIOS name like "Username" try the UPN format -  "username@xx.net" If this works, you should still try to resolve the name resolution issue.
Back to Top
rickdputo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Location: pa
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote rickdputo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jul 2010 at 9:01pm
same problem here:
 
Finding Domain Controller for domain nutecdesign... Done.
Using Domain Controller: \\acctnsql.nutecdesign.com.
Binding to Active Directory...Fails.
The RPC server is unavailable.
Migration Fails.
 
any ideas..??
rick
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1203
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jul 2010 at 5:08am

Hi Rick,

RonnieE had a problem where connecting to AD failed because access was denied - which is very unusual. The "The RPC server is unavailable" is generally the result of a DNS name resolution problem. See Finding Domain Controller Fails/ “The RPC server is unavailable” in the User Guide.
Back to Top
Andrew View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote Andrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2017 at 4:40pm
Add an entry into the hosts file with the address of the domain controller.

1. Find Notepad, right-click and run as Administrator.
2. Open c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

Add an entry like

10.2.1.10 AD ad.companyname.ca

It can fail because the DNS isn't figuring out where the server is. This solved the problem for me.
Back to Top
insanetech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Apr 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
  Quote insanetech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2017 at 9:14am
This error happened with me also.binding to active directory fails..rpc unavailable.....really frustrating..i have checked dns configuration of my dns server..its fine.firewall is disabled..account has complete rights..still same error..i dont know what to do..please please help.....
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.