ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Questions when migrating to new server

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
lancorp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote lancorp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Questions when migrating to new server
    Posted: 10 Dec 2010 at 7:45am
I usually use the brute force profile copy method, but thought I would give this software a try on our current project.

A few questions that weren't clear in the documentation.

First, we're replacing an old 2003 server with a new 2008 server. Workstations are XP PRO. New server is configured with same domain and server name.

Questions:

1. Should we disjoin the workstations from the old server/domain before migrating?
2. If NO on #1, should we be logged into the workstation as the user we are migrating or as an administrator? Normally, logging in as the user locks that profile, but not sure what this new method uses.
3. If YES on #1 and we disjoin the old domain, then the profile we want to migrate will be listed as Unknown Account in the profiles list. can we choose this profile anyways and migrate to a new profile?
4. Lastly, what server should be active on the network during the migration--old server or new server?

Thank you and looking forward to an easy migration!
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1279
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2010 at 7:50am
Hi,
 
1. No, there is no need to disjoin the workstations from the old domain. Normally it is easier if you do not.
2. User Profile Wizard can migrate a profile even if the user is logged in and the profile is in use.
3. If you did disjoin the computer from the old domain, User Profile Wizard can still migrate the "Unknown Account" profile anyways.
4. The new server needs to be active on the network.
 
Many thanks!
 


Edited by Support - 11 Dec 2010 at 7:51am
Back to Top
lancorp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote lancorp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2010 at 8:31am
Having not heard anything back yesterday, we moved forward, into uncharted waters, and am happy to report back that not only was your utility easy to use, but it flawlessly migrated 14 workstations to a new server quickly and effortlessly!

After the first workstation (we used a non-essential w/s to test the migration) completed the migration in under a minute, we were amazed and shocked that it was so easy!

Thanks again, you saved us many hours of manual labor!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.016 seconds.