ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Run from login script - Windows 7

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
rob_nz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Mar 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote rob_nz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Run from login script - Windows 7
    Posted: 28 Mar 2011 at 8:12pm
I am attempting to run profile migration from a network share using a user login script to run migrate.exe.
 
My issue is that although I supply local admin credentials in the config, I get a migration failed with an access denied error in the log.
 
I believe this is because of UAC, as when I run a migration manually, using the wizard, I have to select 'Run as administrator' for it to work.
 
Anyone found a way around this?
 
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1226
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2011 at 5:14am
Hi,
 
Yes, this is a UAC issue. There is some background here.
 
You have a number of choices.
 
1. Run the migration script from a Computer Group Policy on the old domain.
2. Use User Profile Wizard or Profbat to migrate the machines remotely.
3. Use the local Administrator account, or the old domain Administrator account to run the migration.
4. Run the migration from an Electronic Software Distribution solution like Configuration Manager, Marimba or Tivoli.
5. Temporarily disable UAC on the workstation. (Not recommended!)
 
 
 
Back to Top
rob_nz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Mar 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote rob_nz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2011 at 2:08pm
Thanks,
 
Yep, about what  I figured. Smile
 
1.& 4.   We have Altiris so, yeah could do that or Machine GPO.
 
Tried 3, still seems to have issues. I'll have a look, there are some GPO's for UAC to tweak various behaviors.
 
2. Can do, was hoping to run in the user's context after their account and mailbox are migrated,so I don't miss any machine.
 
Oh well..
 


Edited by rob_nz - 29 Mar 2011 at 2:09pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.