ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Can't join XP after upgrade from 3.0 to 3.5

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
grittyminder View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
  Quote grittyminder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2011 at 2:40am
I modified my domain join script to use the older (i.e. 2.5) and newer (i.e. 3.5) versions of profwiz. The script detects the operating system and from there determines which version profwiz to use (i.e. 2.5 for XP and 3.5 for Windows 7). There is also the option to forcibly override the default profwiz version using command line parameters, so that, for example, it is possible to attempt to use profwiz 3.5 with an XP PC.
 
The script passes the _exact same parameters_ (excuding /DOMAINPWD) to both versions of profwiz, and yet 3.5 still refuses to join XP computers. Naturally 2.5 works just fine, as always. This is part of the reason I urged my company to provide the funds to upgrade to 3.5, because 2.5 worked so flawlessly--I never, not once, experienced any problems with 2.5.  However, my experience using 3.5 thus far has been wholely negative.
 
I would appreciate your help getting to the bottom of this problem so that I won't have to akwardly switch between profwiz versions depending on the operating system. I mentioned this before, but profwiz 3.5 still works via the gui, but not the command line...
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1311
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Dec 2011 at 5:03am

Fix the network and you fix the problem. NBNS errors do not occur on well configured networks.

There is no evidence that there is any kind of problem with User Profile Wizard 3.5. We stopped selling version 2.5 several years ago. Hundreds of customers use User Profile Wizard to migrate XP machines; some of those customers are migrating many thousands of machines. They do not have this issue.

It may well be that in getting User Profile Wizard to work well with Windows 7 we have removed whatever it was that allowed version 2.5 to circumvent this network problem. The fact that version 2.5 does not expose the same error is certainly curious. We will look to see what might be going on. It would be useful if you could email your configuration files/command lines to support@ForensiT.com In return, there are some code revisions we can get you to try.

Thanks.
Back to Top
grittyminder View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
  Quote grittyminder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Dec 2011 at 12:39am

> Fix the network and you fix the problem. NBNS errors do not occur on well configured networks.

The client computers that are to be joined to the domain receive all the networking information they need to function (DNS server info, DNS serch suffix info) via DHCP. The DHCP configuration has remained unchanged for years, meaning that the current DHCP configuration was in affect when we used Profwiz 2.5 to migrate a few dozen computers a year or so ago.
 
The only thing that I can think of that might be different about our computing environment is that we have NetBIOS and lmhosts lookups disabled on the dns servers/domain controlers. That and all our PCs are Japanese. I tried enabling/disabling NetBIOS and lmhost lookups on the client side but it didn't seem to matter.
 
Anyhow, I sent all the requested information/files to support so we will see what happens.
 
 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.