ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Desktop Management
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

UserProfileMgr: Doesn't work after sysprep ?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
makes View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote makes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: UserProfileMgr: Doesn't work after sysprep ?
    Posted: 30 Mar 2012 at 12:32am
Hi Everyone,
 
I am currently testing User Profile Manager (UPM) for use within our VMWare View VDI environment. We would like all users to share the same existing profile to significantly speed up logon time. We are using Win7 x64 as the OS for these virtual machines.
 
We have been very impressed with this product on a test workstation. However, when we try to use it within our VDI image it doesn't work.
 
When a virtual machine is cloned and provisioned within the VDI environment it goes through a QuickPrep process (VMWare's version of Sysprep). I suspect because we are using an Evaluation version of UPM it's not working because it's detected that MAC address & PC name is different on the cloned instance ?.
 
Would you please confirm that if we had a UPM volume licence it should be able to work on cloned VMs ?.  Is there any way we can test using the eval version to confirm everything would work fine in the VMWare environment ?.
 
Thank you, Makes
 
 
 
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1355
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Mar 2012 at 2:33am

Hi,

"it doesn't work" is bit vague Smile

Yes, licensing for the retail version of User Profile Manager is hardware specific, so you are right to say that changing the (virtual) hardware will cause a problem. The volume license version does not have this problem. However, it is not clear from what you have said that licensing is the issue.

If you need help with this please email support@ForensiT.com

Thanks.
Back to Top
makes View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
  Quote makes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2012 at 5:29pm
Hi Support Team,
 
Many thanks for your response. OK it sounds like my suspicion was correct then.
 
We will need to use a volume licence key for an environment that uses cloning then.
 
Sorry for not being more specific. When i said it doesn't work what i meant was that Windows just creates a brand new profile for each user rather that using the existing profile that's been assigned to that user through UPM.
 
Thanks.
 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.