ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Move from DOMAIN to WORKGROUP?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Scott View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Sep 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote Scott Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Move from DOMAIN to WORKGROUP?
    Posted: 18 Sep 2007 at 3:12pm
Hi, would Profile Wizard work to move systems off of a domain then to a workgroup without losing any of a users settings, docs, outlook data, favs. etc?  

Didn't see any reference's to this in the docs so I thought I would ask before we bought it....


Thanks,


Scott....
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1320
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 2007 at 3:35pm
Hi Scott,
 
You can certainly use User Profile Wizard to assign a user's domain account profile to a local user account. There are, however, two things to keep in mind. Firstly, User Profile Wizard will not "unjoin" the machine from the domain; you will need to find another way to do this, either manually or via a script. Secondly, the local user account needs to exist on the machine before you run the Wizard.
Back to Top
Scott View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Sep 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote Scott Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Sep 2007 at 3:20pm
Thanks for the info, this will help out alot.   One more question, after running profile wizard does it copy or move the data from the domain account to the local account or is the local account just "looking" in the domain account for the data?  

Again, thanks for the info....


Scott...
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1320
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Sep 2007 at 11:53am
User Profile Wizard configures the user's existing profile so that it can be used by their new account. The Wizard does not move, copy or delete any data which makes the migration process intrinsically safe.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.016 seconds.