ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

ProfWiz hang on Setting Profile ACL

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
leggolos View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Apr 2013
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
  Quote leggolos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ProfWiz hang on Setting Profile ACL
    Posted: 22 Apr 2013 at 5:24pm
trying to go from a local account to a domain account.

I select the Domain, type in the user (that exists on domain).
Select the local user profile I want to migrate From.
then type in a domain admin account (when it asks).
goes through a few steps, and then it hangs on the "setting Profile ACL..." step.

when I say hang, it just stops there not doing anything, I have left it for an hour and still nothing.
I cancelled and tried again after logging into the admin account. still nothing.
I tried again after run this program as Admin, still didn't work.
No errors. Nothing else.


Can anyone help me?
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1277
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2013 at 4:17am
What version of Windows are you running on?
 
Back to Top
leggolos View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Apr 2013
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
  Quote leggolos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2013 at 7:52am
windows 7 professional
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1277
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2013 at 8:14am

First, make sure you are running version 3.7.

If the migration process hangs again, look for a .dmp file called something like UserProfileMigrationService.exe.1234.dmp in the following folder:

%ALLUSERSPROFILE%\ForensiT\Error Reporting

Copy and paste the above path into a "Run" box to open the folder. If the .dmp file exists please email it to support@ForensiT.com.

Thanks.
Back to Top
leggolos View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Apr 2013
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
  Quote leggolos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2013 at 11:23am
Yes I am using 3.7 downloaded it yesterday as part of my troubleshooting.

I attempted to go to %AllUsersProfile%\ForensiT\Error Reporting
but in windows 7 %AllUsersProfile% = c:\ProgramData
and within that directory there is No ForensiT directory at all. (Yes I know that C:\ProgramData is a hidden folder, it is not that, the directory ForensiT doesn't exist)
(I looked on my computer, which had ForensiT work correctly on it, and that folder isn't there either)

Edited by leggolos - 23 Apr 2013 at 11:24am
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1277
  Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2013 at 3:37am
The ForensiT directory will only exist if there has been an Application error.
 
Try the migration again. If it appears to hang, open the Computer Management MMC console and check whether the "User Profile Migration Service" is running. If it has stopped, check for the dmp file.
Back to Top
leggolos View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Apr 2013
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
  Quote leggolos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2013 at 7:43am
The computer has become unavailalbe, I will get back to this thread in half a month.

Thank you SO much for your help.
Back to Top
leggolos View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Apr 2013
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
  Quote leggolos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 May 2013 at 9:21am
Hey I am back.
Trying the forensit 3.7
1) Run the program
2) enter in a valid domain name xxx.local, and fill in the user name that exists on the domain.
3) Select the local profile I want to migrate.
4) Enter in my user name and password (domain admin) when it asks during the progress.
5) Wait... .
6) wait...
7) check the progress, UserProfileMigrationService.exe*32 is still running, and shows 3.5MB of memory usage, and CPU activity (minimal 12% max average 2%)
8) wait...
9) wait...
10) been an hour.... check profile size:31GB 612,000 Files
11) Deleted temp internet files
12) attempted the conversion again.
13) Completed Migration in 3.75 seconds

Thanks for the help, found the resolution.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.