Print Page | Close Window

Moving back to local profile

Printed From: ForensiT
Category: ForensiT Support
Forum Name: Desktop Management
Forum Discription: User Profile Manager questions, suggestions, comments and bug reports
URL: http://forum.ForensiT.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=145
Printed Date: 18 Sep 2019 at 3:10pm


Topic: Moving back to local profile
Posted By: zmiah
Subject: Moving back to local profile
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2008 at 10:22am
Hello,
 
I have a laptop running XP Pro that used to be connected to a domain. This domain was deleted few months ago, and till yesterday I manged to login with the domain user credentials through the domain profile cached on the laptop. However, yesterday the cached profile expired (or so it seems). Can I use any of your tools to un-migrate the domain profile (through its copy on my laptop) to a local user profile, maintaining all the settings and configuration of the domain user profile?
 
Thanks,
 
Haim



Replies:
Posted By: Support
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2008 at 11:44am
Hi Haim,
 
Yes, you certainly can. You just need to choose the local computer name from the "Enter the Domain" drop-down list on the "User Account Information" page, and enter the local account name.


Posted By: zmiah
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2008 at 11:58am
What tool are you referring to?


Posted By: Support
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2008 at 11:59am
http://www.forensit.com/Profwiz/index.htm - User Profile Wizard


Posted By: zmiah
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2008 at 2:24pm

This worked, thanks. Now the new local user account is sharing the profile originally serving as a domain local profile cache. If I now access the wizard again and unclick "share", will this disconnect the original domain user account from the profile, leaving only the new local user referring to it?

 

Also, could you please point to some information on how user profile data is stored and managed in the registry?

 

Thanks,

 

Haim



Posted By: Support
Date Posted: 27 Nov 2008 at 3:46am
Hi Haim,
 
Once you have shared the profile, there isn't a way to "unshare" it with User Profile Wizard.
 
Profile information for each user is stored in the registry by user SID under the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList key. One way to stop "sharing" the profile would be to delete the subkey for the old domain user SID. However, given that the old domain has been deleted, having the entry there isn't going to cause any problems.



Print Page | Close Window