Print Page | Close Window

Disable/Delete Profiles and Multiple Profiles

Printed From: ForensiT
Category: ForensiT Support
Forum Name: Domain Migration
Forum Discription: User Profile Wizard questions, suggestions, comments and bug reports
URL: http://forum.ForensiT.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=947
Printed Date: 13 Nov 2018 at 8:56pm


Topic: Disable/Delete Profiles and Multiple Profiles
Posted By: TCS
Subject: Disable/Delete Profiles and Multiple Profiles
Date Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 9:15pm
First, this tool is amazing and what a time saver but I need to ask two fairly basic questions; I use the interactive tool (Pro).

1. I have not tried the disable/delete features during migration. Does it create a new profile for the new domain then disable/delete the old profile? Since I have not used these features yet, it seems to leave the existing profile folder name in place no matter what the new domain user name is.

2. Running interactively, if I have two profiles to move on a single machine I assume once I move one profile I would run the tool again to grab a second profile on the same machine?

Thanks for you help.

Greg



Replies:
Posted By: Support
Date Posted: 03 Oct 2013 at 4:47am
Hi Greg,

1. The disable/delete functions relate to local user accounts. You can disable or delete (not recommended unless you are sure what you're doing) the local accounts whose profiles you are migrating to new domain accounts. Remember an account is represented by your username and password; a profile is the data, the documents and settings, associated with that account.

The Professional and Corporate Editions can rename the profile folder. The Personal Edition cannot.

2. Yes, you re-run the Wizard if you want to migrate another profile.


Posted By: TCS
Date Posted: 03 Oct 2013 at 9:26am
Thanks for your prompt reply.

I am doing a domain migration this weekend and I own the Professional version. So if I check the "Disable" box during migration, the old "Local" account becomes disabled, will a new Profile folder then be created using the new Domain User Name (if changing Domain User Names)?

Greg


Posted By: Support
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2013 at 3:48am
To rename the profile folder, the <RenameProfileFolder> value in Profwiz.config needs to be set to 'True'

<RenameProfileFolder>True</RenameProfileFolder>

Disabling the local account has no effect on this.



Posted By: TCS
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2013 at 8:08am
Thanks for your help. I truly appreciate this tool and the work it has saved me.

Greg



Print Page | Close Window