ForensiT Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ForensiT Support > Domain Migration
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Logging Back On Locally
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Logging Back On Locally

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
bristef View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bristef Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Logging Back On Locally
    Posted: 20 Mar 2009 at 10:08am
Hi.  I just used User Profile Wizard 3.0 to migrate the local administrator's account on a workgroup computer (XP) to a user account in our domain.  UPW 3.0 joined the domain and successfully migrated the local admin account's profile to the new domain user account and I can logon and everything seems fine.  However, when I try to logon locally to the computer with the local (non domain) admin account I just migrated, it does not use (or "share") the profile I had just migrated - it create a new profile ("administrator.localcomputername") in the document and settings directory.  I had not checked off "Disable Account" or "Delete Account" when migrating.
 
Is this the expected behavior?  I was under the impression that local and domain users to which it the local account was migrated could share the same profile.
 
Thanks ahead of time for any help and/or explaination.
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1496
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2009 at 10:26am
Hi, yes, this is expected behaviour. User Profile Wizard no longer shares profiles by default. If you want to enable sharing you need to set <ShareProfile> in the Profwiz.config file to 'True'. However, you should be aware that there are potential issues with this: see this post for more information.
Back to Top
bristef View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bristef Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2009 at 11:27am
Thanks for the information and the link - much appreciated.  I also saw you had this information in the manual as well, under "Profwiz.config Reference" ...I should have checked there first!
 
Thanks again for the help.
 
-Brian
 
Back to Top
bristef View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bristef Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2009 at 11:42am
One quick follow up to this question...is there a safe way share and/or unshare a profile after a migration has taken place?
 
Thanks-
Brian
 
Back to Top
Support View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1496
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Support Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2009 at 12:53pm
Hi Brian,
 
The only way is to run the Wizard again and re-migrate the profile.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.03
Copyright ©2001-2019 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.059 seconds.